Dwins’s Weblog


Java(Script)?

Posted in Bio,Development by dwins on October 20, 2008

Recently my manager at OpenGeo, Chris Holmes, asked me about working on some JavaScript projects.  So far at OpenGeo I’ve been using Java pretty exclusively (I’ve spent a bit of time patching up a couple of things in Python), so JavaScript would be a pretty serious change from my normal routine.  Java is a compiled, statically typed, strongly typed language with one runtime that dominates the market (or at least, where we can specify that one particular runtime is supported by the project); JavaScript is interpreted, dynamically typed, weakly typed, and basically has as many interpreters as there are browsers out there, all of which have their own deviations from the standard.

Initially, I told Chris I’d be up for a switch of language, but when I asked some of the guys who are already doing JavaScript they told me it’d be smart to stay away if I could, because it’s just such a pain to deal with cross-browser development in JavaScript.  I’m not really that concerned about it though; I mean, don’t all languages have their weak points?  I can’t just avoid everything that doesn’t inspire outright fanboyism from its users. (Though, to be fair, there’s plenty of kool-aid drinking in the Java world as well; I just don’t have any handy examples in the form of webcomics.)

Anyway, I don’t have any JavaScript projects lined up just yet (and I do have a fair bit of stuff to do in Java), so I guess I’ll just see how things go.  Thoughts from random folks on the interwebs welcome.

(Aside for non-techies: ‘typing’ is the model by which a programming language structures data.  A strongly typed language forces you to use each value in your code as a single type (ie, is this a number or a word or a record representing a country, etc.), while a weakly typed one will try to guess the types based on context (so you can, for example, add the characters “23” to the number 8 and get 31.  A statically typed system does all this checking before the code ever runs (and usually refuses to run if any of the checks fail) while a dynamically typed system waits until a line is run to check (and will run just fine with code that makes no sense as long as you don’t actually get to that line of code).  Wikipedia probably explains it better.  Anyway, typing is a pretty big factor in a language’s ease-of-use, since it affects how much work the compiler/interpreter can do for you in terms of validating code or figuring things out from context.)

Leave a Reply

