Dwins’s Weblog


No Crystal Ball

Posted in Development,Open Source Software by dwins on January 12, 2009

The OpenGeo team recently created a new, more formal group for JavaScript developers (aka the ‘jteam’) Starting this week, I was supposed to be dividing my time 3:2 between GeoServer work and jteam tasks.

The manager is dealing with some personal obligations and that first week on the new schedule was pushed back a week.

Over the winter break a neat styling tool for GeoServer was announced that made use of a GeoServer extension I’ve been working on on and off for the past 9 months or so. Since then it’s been getting a fair bit of attention from the community since then, I figured I’d be putting a lot of work into polishing it up so we could make it an official extension (basically, put a link to it on the downloads page.)

I ended up fixing random bugs against GeoServer while another developer reviewed the module.

Of those bugs, this one sounded like it would be pretty straightforward to fix. Another sounded pretty tough.

The first took me two days to fix, the second one I resolved in an afternoon.

I am beginning to think that I am not very good at predicting the future.

Leave a Reply

